About the BC Restaurant Hall of Fame

The BC Restaurant Hall of Fame was conceived in 2004 and the first groups of inductees were honoured in March of 2005. An initiative of the British Columbia Restaurant and Foodservices Association, this is the first, and remains the only, Restaurant Hall of Fame in Canada. The BC Restaurant Hall of Fame was established to recognize and celebrate the individuals in the restaurant industry who have made significant contributions to the BC restaurant scene; making it the finest in Canada.

Together, Bing Smith and Don Monsour, took their vision from conception to reality.

The inaugural group of sixteen inductees was lead by Erwin Doebeli and Umberto Menghi and included legends such as Nat Bailey, Hy Aisenstat, George Tidball, Bruno Marti and Harry McWatters. Our pioneers are being honoured, as they created our industry. Our active inductees are designing our future. Our friends of the industry assist us in making our present time a success and supporting us to our future successes.

The BC dining scene is recognized across the country as industry and trend leading. On October 23, 2023, we gather to celebrate the individuals and businesses whose vision, creativity and unbelievable hard work made this possible by inducting them into the BC Restaurant Hall of Fame.